Our weekly picks from the New Hip-Hop Videos From Aus playlist; as always, highlighting the latest and best videos from across the AU. Don’t miss out! Subscribe to our channel to be the first across the hottest new clips. Updated weekly, there are thousands to watch in our YouTube playlist! Which video are you into this week? Slam the comments with who we missed…

(Park Avenue Media)

Melbourne northside emcees VV Ace and Lxrdmc provide visuals to their hard-hitting track ‘Frank Walker’. Produced by Rinzler, the song is stripped from their compelling five-track EP No Man’s Land, and takes its name after the iconic National Tiles founder, Frank Walker, famous for his radio ads. Directed by Park Avenue Media, the music video is styled as a 90s TV sales to contrast their captivating skills as persuasive wordsmiths. ‘Frank Walker’ jovially pays homage to cherished Australian memories, aligning with the EP’s overarching theme of celebrating iconic Australian culture. This rap collaboration leaves an inviolable impression, much like the places they pay acknowledgement to.

(A.B. Original)

A.B. Original declare ‘YES’ on new single ahead of the Indigenous Voice referendum. Over golden era inspired hip-hop production, DJ Total Eclipse and Marlon join the duo of Briggs and Trials to show why they’re voting yes to “change the Constitution to recognise the First Peoples of Australia by establishing a body called the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice.” Following their performance at Now & Forever, a concert to amplify the Yes campaign featuring Baker Boy and Barkaa, the track arrives with an accompanying lyric music video. Voting will be held on Saturday, 14 October 2023. 

(AMARNI, Chaun Don, Lauren Enriquezz, Riches & Saints)

AMARNI unveils an icy new visualiser to her latest track ‘5 STAR’. Released in July, the Sydney artist stunts her ‘5 STAR’ status over bouncy production by Open Till L8. Directed and produced by AMARNI, Chaun Don, Lauren Enriquezz, Riches & Saints, the visualiser sees her getting armed with over 10 million dollars worth of jewellery in under two-minutes of the single’s runtime. Back from her trip in the United States, AMARNI approaches her debut EP which will feature artists like Hooligan Hefs and production from Taka Perry and Sefru. 5 Stars for the flex.

(Rejjie, Ariel & Prettyboy Collective)

It’s no secret that SOLLYY is one of the hardest and most talented creatives in the AU scene. Enlisting fellow Sydney artist Dylan Atlantis on ‘NO ASSUMPTIONS’, the multi-hyphenate continues the run he’s been on as a rapper, producer, DJ and more. In the music video, creatively crafted by Rejje, Ariel and Prettyboy Collective, SOLLYY and Dylan link up and rep their area with cameos from other Sydney artists like Kavi. It’s one for the city. SOLLYY approaches this track with the same tenacity he hit the stage with at the Amazon Music & AUD’$ After Hours BIGSOUND showcase, once again proving that he’s not one to mess with. 

(Adam Hartshorn & Lucas Hanns)

Fresh off his debut album entitled You Only Die Once, Jaal provides visuals to ‘DND’. On the third-to-last track on the project, the South Sudanese artist paints a vivid picture of life and his come up through his own perspective. With an impeccable flow and mic presence, the Melbourne rapper continues to cement himself as one of the brightest emcees in the country. Bringing an early Joey Bada$$ aesthetic to the visuals directed by Lucas Hanns and Adam Hartshorn, Jaal creeps around Melbourne, ducking through malls and karaoke spots. The alarm’s gone off, it’s Jaal’s time.

(TK Wiliams)

South Sudanese virtuoso Tèbir offers another soulful R&B masterpiece with ‘Feel’. Directed by TK Williams, the music video features Tèbir and fellow dancers in an open field against a stunning sunset backdrop, their movements echoing the rhythm of their emotions. ‘Feel’ encourages following your heart to find your true home, emphasising the human need for connection and community, a hallmark of belonging to Tebir’s tribe. 2023 has been a remarkable year for Tèbir with ‘Feel’ adding to the already budding discography alongside previous releases ‘Safe‘ and ‘Long Live The Chief’.

Written by Frank Tremain, Matt Slocum & Tahlia La Galia.

Share this post: